A little success goes a long way

So last Monday I started the Body for Life 12 week program.  I can feel  a difference already.  I used to be afraid of weights and the big machines at the gym before doing BFL in 2003. I find I really enjoy weights and feeling stronger.  I like the “ache” that I get when I work out and the feeling of accomplishment.  It’s encouraging. I will admit, taking the before pictures was a bit depressing but I like the results I’ve seen in only a week.  I have lost several inches when doing my measurements and my clothes are already feeling looser.  It’s a good change for me so far.  I’m going to ride this one out the entire 12 weeks!

The best part of it is the free day.  No exercise and eat whatever you want.  Now that’s my kind of plan!  It felt freeing to be able to eat the delicious cupcakes at the baby shower I gave without any guilt.  I had a few rolos and some Jelly Bellys and it was all ok.  I even got my “dirty” food in – a bean and cheese burrito from one of the “berto’s” out here.  It makes it so much easier to really focus on doing well when you know you have permission to eat whatever in just a few days.  I’m still working on getting enough water in but the equal carb  (mostly complex carbs and fruit) to protein in 6 meals a day – two of those with vegetables- is working for me.  It worked for me before so I know it can work for me again.  If nothing else, it’s renewed my enthusiasm and motivated me to succeed.

I also like the exercise regimen.  Upper body one day, cardio the next, lower body the following body and cardio the next.  Cardio is a HIIT (high intensity interval training) workout.  It’s tough but feels so good and only takes 20 minutes!  I can do that.  The upper and lower body workouts take about 50 minutes.

It seems many of us on this blog are a bit stuck and trying to find our way out of the hole we probably put ourselves in.  Everyone that I’ve read so far has a way they plan to get out.  I love that about you all.

If you are “stuck”, consider giving this a try… bodyforlife

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Rae and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Glad it’s working for you!!! Sorry I missed the baby shower…and the cupcakes.

  2. curvyelviesays

    Good luck with the program seems like you have a handle on it already.

  3. Thank you for the link I was very curious about it. What a great week for you!

  4. I’ve heard so much good about BFL, I’m excited to see your success! I also agree that a “cheat day” waiting in the wings helps so much! Good luck!!

What you say matters...