1lb at a Time

I know everyone says that you should take things one day at a time, but sometimes as a mom of 3 “big kids” and a newborn I need to take things one hour at a time. I have been having some great results with my weight loss. I’ve been working hard and planning. I’ve been grocery shopping and eating more fruits and veggies than I have in my entire adult life. I feel great. Seriously, I feel amazing. I have more energy than I have had in a really long time. I noticed the other day my headaches weren’t nearly as frequent as they had been, and my little aches and pains are no more. (except for a random shoulder issue I’ve been having–which I’m going to attribute to carrying a baby and a carseat most of my day!) I LOVE the benefits of eating healthy. I’m not fully eating clean. I allow myself the occasional treat, and I had a really hard time getting back on track after mother’s day. I was nervous to weigh this morning because I devoured enjoyed some cupcakes I made for Mother’s Day. But I weighed and I was down 1lbs.

At first I was disappointed in that pound. 1lb? I have like nearly 50 more of those to lose! 1lb a week?! It will take a year for me to hit my goal!  Then I remembered the cupcakes, coconut macaroons, the non existent exercise, and the lack of going out of the house this week. {Libby got her 2mo shots on Monday so we’ve been laying low letting her feel better} I also reminded myself that even if it did take a year to hit my goal… who cares? At least I hit it! Also, I  reminded myself that losing 1lb was better than gaining. I know my food choices could have been better a few meals this week. I know I could have walked on the treadmill when Libby was sleeping There are things I could have done that I didn’t do. But I still lost. And that I needed to celebrate.

This next week I want to focus more on exercise. That treadmill in my living room isn’t just there as a conversation piece. Nor are the weights or weight bench that accompany it. It’s been ridiculously hot here. Like we’ve already had some triple digit days. Love me the Arizona Summertime! 😉 So, I’m not going to allow myself to use the excuse that it’s too hot out to exercise. I have a freaking treadmill. In my living room. No excuses! I also am going to focus on planning my meals more in advance. But most importantly, I’m going to focus on doing this right. I’m going to focus on the fact that I FEEL great and that the weight loss is just an added bonus!

xoxo,

Autumn

Posted on May 16, 2013, in Autumn, goals. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What you say matters...

