The Overachievers

This week wasn’t the best, but it wasn’t the worst. I actually did pretty decent with my eating. I allowed myself to have a few “splurge” meals and didn’t let it run over to the weekend or the next day even. I will say, I did allow myself to indulge a tad more than I probably should have, but I knew that if I didn’t let myself then I would be blogging on here about how I gave in and was found ODing on chocolate in my closet at 3am. So, to spare you all that awful potential post.

Last Friday when I was walking back from walking my littles back from taking them to school when my friend pulled up and told me that her and another friend go walking after they take their kids and asked if I wanted to join them. I said sure and we planned to start Monday. Monday morning I get my shoes on, load the baby up, and we start our walk. A few things I should have thought of before agreeing to this. 1. these two ladies are crazy skinny. Crazy skinny. 2. the pace we walked across the street to pick up our other friend should have made me realize what the rest of the walk would be like. So, we start off and they are walking like crazy and talking about 200 mph and hardly are even missing a beat. I  was trying to stay up with them and the convo and kept apologizing for being out of shape. They were so sweet and told me not to worry. Then I ask what the route is. They tell me and I quickly calculate in my head how many miles that is. 4. It was about 4. Wow. Ok, I can do hard things. So I keep walking. Well, I ended up cutting out a tad early and taking a short cut to our house. I had a huge blister on the back of my foot and could hardly walk. I called Bry when I was close to my house and had him come pick me up. I had to admit defeat. But as I was frustrated that I wasn’t able to keep on with “the overachiever” I realized I did a pretty darn good job. I walked at least 2 1/2 miles at a very brisk pace. I did a hard thing. The next day I called the overachiever and told them thank you for including me, but my heels are so blistered I can hardly walk and I’m just not in the right shape to be in that group. I needed to work my way up there. And you know what? I do! I’m ok with admitting I’m not in the same shape as the overachiever’s are. I started walking this morning with my friend who had a baby a few weeks before I did. We walked at a good pace and I made the entire walk without thoughts of jumping into the road!

Yesterday I decided to go and buy a pair of shorts that fit and weren’t maternity. I knew this was going to be a reality check and as much as I didn’t want it I also knew that I needed it. So, I went. I bought the shorts that were a size I haven’t worn in years. And I decided that that size shorts doesn’t define me. It isn’t permanent. I won’t be wearing them for long and that is what I need to remember. It actually was very motivating to eat a buster bar and then prepare myself to get my butt in shape!

I weighed this morning and I’m down a few more pounds—like 2.3,  I’m so proud of myself! I know that i would have been down more had I not done so many splurges, but I lost and I’m going to celebrate that! I’ve been good about tracking my calories and planning. I have plans to go walking tomorrow with my friend, too!

So, friends! I will blog to you next week… and I would love to read more from you other bloggers! 😉 Until then, I’m going to keep working until I can be an overachiever! 🙂

Posted on May 2, 2013, in achievement, Autumn, weigh in. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What you say matters...

