I HATE THE SCALE

WARNING: This post contains the rantings of a woman spurned by a scale.

I exercised hard core this week. I not only met my goal of getting three workouts in and eating lunch every day instead of snacking but I did FOUR workouts. Not only did I participate in those four workouts but I pushed myself in every single one. I swam laps for an entire hour. I could barely catch my breath between songs during spin class. Mandy had us doing so many pushups that I lost count. And other than the two Krispy Kreme donuts -which were part of my motivation to push myself harder in my exercising – I ate really well. Not only that but I think I got plenty of sleep and I know I’ve been downing water like it’s going out of style.

So why? WHY? WHY? did the scale (stupid, dagnab scale) say this to me today:

This is 1 whole pound up from last week! Not only that but I just checked pictures in my archives and this exact weight has been rather popular lately. 3 of my last 5 weigh in results were exactly 228.6!

I was looking forward to getting on the scale today. I wanted to love the results of my hard work this week. I was hoping to shout out that I’d reached a new low weight since starting this blog.

I hate the scale.

And so help me if even one of you suggests that it’s muscle weight gain from all the work I’ve been doing you will be banished from the land of scalematters forever! (I may have been watching too many season 1 episodes of Once Upon a Time lately). All that muscle I’m gaining is supposed to be burning the fat away.

Clearly my body likes this particular weight.

I. Do. Not.

I can’t even say that I’m going to take drastic measures because I’m not sure which area of nutrition and exercise I need to fine tune. It feels so elusive. One thing I do (or don’t do) can make a huge difference on the scale, but what is the mysterious one thing…this week?

I’m going to pray about it.

Wish me luck.

 

 

Posted on September 21, 2012, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I say one week of hard work is a great beginning. Give the scale some time to show you the results of your hard work and keep on it. It eventually will…It has to. But one week of work may not show you the fruits of your labor…yet. Your body is funny that way. And NO MORE Krispy Kremes! Love you!

  2. I bet you see it next week!

  3. I hate scales too,,,, how about trying this one out,,,,,, when you know you are eating right and exercizing right,,,,, don’t weigh yourself every week,,,, put it off for 3 weeks to give your body a chance to figure out that you are serious this time.

  4. It seems we live and die by the scale doesn’t it? I don’t have any great words for ya since I am needing some myself except to say I love doing this with you! It helps so much to know my struggle is shared by others. It may not seem like it, but it is encouraging. Especially when I see you succeed, and I know you will, after a rough patch!
    Huge Hugs across the miles!!

What you say matters...

