Curves

So, I am now over halfway through my phase 1 of the south beach diet. And I just got back from my second workout at Curves. I’ll give you my review on each.

South Beach Diet Phase 1

“What can you eat?” was my biggest question. I’ll tell you it isn’t as hard as I thought to find things to eat. I’ve only had two salads in these 14 days. Breakfasts have included turkey sausages and eggs mostly. Lunches are the hardest in my opinion. Especially if you don’t have leftovers from the dinner the night before. This is where I have had salads, peanut butter and celery and leftovers. Dinners have been widely varied. We’ve had pot roast without potatoes, chicken teriyaki without rice, chicken chili, (we’ve used that to make a few taco salads), stuffed mushrooms, frittatas, steak fajitas without the tortillas, salmon with veggies, turkey breast with green beans, roasted chicken with carrots and broccoli, and spaghetti made with spaghetti squash instead of noodles.  Snacks are mostly hard-boiled eggs and sugar-free jello with cottage cheese. Occasionally at the beginning a baby spoon full of peanut butter. Oh and the best treat of all chocolate Shakes!!!

Recipe: (makes 1 serving)

1 cup almond milk

1 1/2 T peanut butter

2 t of stevia

1 t of non sweetened baking cocoa

1 cup ice

Curves review

I am not on the regular curves program. I was really sad to find that out. Their key cards have a program that tells you how long to do each machine and if you are going hard enough and what muscles are weak and need more attention. Darn it. So the curves that I can do is a circuit training. It’s a large room with a bunch of machines and mats in a circle. You just jump in and then the music is timed to tell you when to switch. The machines are on hydraulics so the harder and faster you push the more resistance you get.  The mats are just there for whatever cardio you want to do, most people jog in place. I try to high knees, butt kicks, jump rope or punches so that I’m not extremely board during mat times and I don’t feel like my ankles are going to break apart.  I am going to have to be my own motivation though. I can see slacking off while going around, in fact I watch other women chat and slack off while doing their circuit.

With no further ado I give you my mii’s wiifit progress…

Posted on September 15, 2012, in Kim and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. YOU ROCK, Kimi! I seriously am so impressed. Keep up the good work. And your menu sounds delicious!

What you say matters...

