Abandonment Issues

I started this blog with friends, but I was the writer (I use the term loosely). I encouraged some of them to just type what they felt when they were nervous, because I was afraid to blog alone. They did their friendly duty, got excited about the new venture, and wrote their posts beautifully.

Now I’m quite comfortable sharing my thought processes, stuff you never wanted to know,  the numbers on my scale, and much more. It seems, however, that my friends have better things to do than (over)share about their fitness goals, failures and successes.

I’m totally fine with that.

No, really. I don’t feel like I’m the only person struggling this week because I gave in to sugar cravings while I was PMSing. I don’t mind that no one else seems to want to talk about how the numbers on their scale are exactly the same this week as last week. It doesn’t bother me at all that those busy friends haven’t even commented on my posts in forever lately let alone shared their own stories.

Honestly. I’m  ok.

Although…

I might feel better if I knew that someone else was struggling against their cravings for soda or if another friend (or two) was trying to get back into the groove of a new school year. Knowing that someone else also saw their reflection from a few yards away and realized she is not the shape she pictures in her head might improve my outlook, too.

But like I said…I’m fine.

This week I’ll read what Kris posts and give her another thumbs up for her awesomeness. The rest of the week I’ll avoid sugar while I try to figure out how to productively spend my time now that all my kids are in school all day. And if no one else posts about their holiday weekend and how it affected their goals I’m sure I can find something else to read. I did just borrow the Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society from a friend. When I don’t get any comments on this post I’ll just pretend I’m sweating from my eyes in spin class next week. It’s going to be a great week. Don’t you worry about me…at all.

Wish me luck…?

Posted on August 31, 2012, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. You can do it babe. I talk bigger than I eat all the time :). I am still the same weight as I was last week but this week I want to be better.

    • “I talk bigger than I eat…” that has got to be my favorite thing I’ve heard about weight loss ever. Isn’t that our nature?!

      Here’s to a better week!

  2. First of all, I’m sorry! Sorry for not encouraging you more, for not commenting more. It’s funny, because my older daughter & I had a “thing” this past week because she’s been having a hard time lately (her husband is a football coach so this time of the year she’s pretty lonely & we are 4 hours away) & guess what – her mom, her OWN MOTHER had not called or texted or even seemed to care about her. How AWFUL is that?! Already I was humbled, having to apologize to her with lame excuses about being so busy I just didn’t think about it, and how I didn’t know she needed me – she should have told me! And then I see this blog from my dear friend who has never stopped being in my prayers & I realized how completely selfish & wrapped up in my own situations & problems I have been!

    Getting my degree is nothing if it causes me to put aside those RIGHT HEREneeding me

    • Sorry – doing this on my phone and it’s STUPID!!! 🙂 ANYWAY – I’m going to school because I want to help others, yet I’m obviously neglecting those who need me now! That’s just such a hypocritical Christian thing to do!! So I’M SORRY! I will be better, I promise! You amaze me with your strength & courage, and I hope to be just like you when I grow up! 🙂

      • Ok, it posted again when I wasn’t finished…. I really need to get on my laptop to do this!!! One last.thing – remember this, as our life, is not a race, but a marathon. And though you may not always here the cheers & yells to keep you going, we are there just around the corner waiting, knowing you can do it! Love you!! K – I’m posting on purpose this time. 🙂

      • HEAR the yells, etc….and I wanna tech englash. Shheshhhhh….

    • OH MY WORD! HOW I LOVE YOU!!! Perhaps you haven’t been around me enough since I became a mother to recognize the sarcastic, motherly guilt tone I was TRYING to write with. You are my favorite reason for social media and blogging. Thank you for the encouragement and love. I hope that this semester is very good to you. Mine is being so good to me that the only class I can get into starts at the end of October. It’s giving me way too much free time.

      Again, you’re awesome and I love you.

  3. Still reading! And I love your posts. And for the record, I’m struggling too. I did great for two days, but then had some major stress (what’s new) and ate my way through it…

    So starting fresh again today! Thanks for your posts, I love them!

  4. You know what? I went out of town this weekend and before I left I made sure that my house was all put together and I planned on posting next week. Now it’s going to seem like you guilted me into getting my bum in gear. Well I’ve needed a good kick in the pants this summer. Now that I live in my own house and cook for just my family and all my stuff is unpacked so that I can cook, I have a plan to do better when I get back into town.

    • 🙂 I’m so excited that you are in your own house! I can’t wait for your post….and I am glad that you are ready and willing to. Sorry if I stole your thunder. Still love me!

What you say matters...

