Love it, Hate it, Can I Live Without it?

I’m 41, married, a mother to three kids and I live in my own mom’s house. It didn’t happen on purpose and we’ve been here years (YEARS). Some days I have hope (or faith or both) that we’ll get our own home and others I feel stuck. Today is a stuck day. Don’t get me wrong. There are some great things about being here. This is not one of them…

She (Mom) came home from a weekend away for a family funeral and this is what was on the counter when I woke up. She cannot throw food away. It might be a physical impossibility for her. She loves treats, too, and no matter how often I ask her not to bring things like this home….she ignores me and does it anyway.

Oh my mother. How I love her. How she drives me crazy.

This isn’t a blog post to complain about my mother. It’s about all the dang sugar! I have given in to the sugar too much lately. I need a clean slate. I feel totally addicted. I choose easy, grabable (it’s a word), food filled with refined sugar to snack on, to replace an actual lunch, to fill me when I’m tired….need I go on?

I’m diabetic for crying out loud! Iwasn’t even eating candy a few months ago and now I don’t seem to know how to eat without it being something sweet. After seeing the many treats this morning I decided I need to go on a sugar fast. I don’t know for how long. I’m afraid to put a number on it and discourage myself so much that I give up before I start. So I’m doing it for today. Tomorrow is another day. I pray for the courage to stick to it tomorrow.

Wish me luck.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I do not envy the headache you will get if you’re anything like me. When I start a sugar/processed food fast I have a migraine for 3 days. I read somewhere though that if you tell yourself you can have a treat…later, your mind is not so obsessed with it and you are able to stay more in control. So just a thought. Save a yummy treat in the freezer and tell yourself you can have it next week. Then maybe next week you’ll decide to wait another week. Pretty soon it will be so freezer burnt you won’t even want it! 🙂 Good luck!!

What you say matters...

