My 6 year old wouldn’t let me workout today

No, really.

Who can say, “No” to a boy who is growing up too fast and wants you to stay home and “play the tickle game” instead of leaving him behind? Last week his position would have been different. Last week his friends hadn’t started back to school yet. His school doesn’t start for another 9 days (oh, yes, we are BOTH counting the days), but all his buddies from the workout whose mom’s are there too…they started school this week. He lost his motivation for motivating me to workout.

Who hasn’t felt like that? No one is there to play/run/lift weights/workout/swim with…why go? Friends make all the difference. If it wasn’t for two of my friends, Rae and Aims as you know them, then I would not have had the courage to start this blog or to really try to lose weight.

If it wasn’t for my friend Mandy teaching that free workout a couple of times a week then I wouldn’t be losing weight. If it wasn’t for my friends Tami & Charlotte then I wouldn’t have ever tried a spin/cycling class, let alone gone back regularly.

Do you need a friend? I posted before about being nice to the skinny chick. Now I’m telling you to go ask her how she does it and invite yourself try her method with her next time. Make a friend or increase an existing friendship. I am telling you, knowing that someone is planning on you working out with them makes all the difference. Having someone to chat (commiserate) with when you feel like your legs are going to fall off and you are sweating from every pore makes it more bearable, too.

I am a scaredy cat when it comes to trying new workouts, but I can do it if someone who has done it before is there to encourage, explain, and (*gasp*) enjoy it with. Charlotte is young enough that I could be her mother. She’s also fit and would exercise  for 6 hours every day if she could. She doesn’t let me off the hook and I love it! Working out with her makes me feel like I really can lose the weight. She’s going back to college this week and I won’t get to workout with her for a few months. I’ll miss you, Charlotte!

My advice – if working out is where you seem to need help: get a workout buddy…or 2 for that matter. Easier said than done? Maybe. Do it anyway.

For 9 more days I’ll be trying to fit workouts in that don’t interfere with tickle time. Then we’ll have a whole new set of problems.

Wish me luck!

Posted on August 17, 2012, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What about something that involves him, like swimming games… Maybe he throws a sinking toy and you get it, aka fetch in the dog world. 🙂 Or a bike ride together, a walk, playing soccer… Emma and Carson love going into the Racquet ball courts at the gym and playing with bouncy balls (tons of them), I kick or throw ball around, while running laps sometimes they join me with races. They always love work out video they can do with me, especially dancing. But that being said, in a week out so, you will miss him like crazy and have plenty of time to catch up… Maybe just playing and being with him is the most fun option. Just be good with your eating and I bet you won’t notice too much difference on the scale. Good luck, you are looking great!

  2. summervacation

    I am so with you! My running partner was out of town last week and I did a big fat nothing ALL WEEK! I need my friends to keep me strong. Keep it up, and keep strong!

What you say matters...

