Crutches? We don’t need no stinkin’ crutches!

I hope you are getting some relaxation and family time in this long weekend and not going too crazy at the BBQ’s and graduation celebrations.

I survived bathing suit shopping, although I do not wish to do it again anytime soon.

The side effects are getting better.

Something someone said to me a while ago has been running through my head. People lose weight when they run outside.

What’s the difference? Besides being inside, not having anyone stare at you as they drive by, and never reaching that tree you’re staring at through the window, what does the treadmill have that the road/trail doesn’t?

A crutch!

As much as I try to convince myself that holding the sides doesn’t change anything, perhaps it does. People running outside do not have anything to hold on to. Nothing to “help” them get to the end. So I decided to try it. No not running outside. I am not quite brave enough to subject the neighbors to that sight. I was not going to hold on, rest my hands, check my pulse, whatever other justification might be used.

The first time was quite an eye opener. I started with  a cocky attitude of  “Seriously, it won’t make a difference.” By the halfway point of my program I was dying. Sweating like I had not done before. I caught myself several times raise my hands, you know to check my pulse, but stopped short. The second run or the 3rd, 4th, and 5th for that matter, was not any easier than the first and I did check my pulse once, but was very conscious of  how long my hands were there.

I also tried something I saw a couple other runners doing. I took my sweat towel and covered the display board. No more using the time as a crutch. Knowing I just have “x” amount of time left. Or the speed crutch. I can’t go faster than “x.” I just hit the up arrow (which is not covered) until it’s a good challenge. I have peaked a couple of times and have surprised myself with how fast I was going. No 10-minute miles yet, just faster than I ever let myself get when I could see the display.

I am stronger than I think, more capable than I think. I need to stop the negative thinking of what I think I can’t do. Easier said than done, I know. I psyche myself out way too much.

I did my weigh-in on Wednesday not really expecting anything since it’s the week leading up to “that” time. Really how many weeks out of the month can we use that excuse? Anyway, the scale was my friend. I nearly cried when I saw 230.4. Down 5lbs from the week before. Could it be that I am finally on my way down the number scale. Could all the blood, blisters, sweat, doctor appointments, nightly torture, and tears FINALLY be paying off?!

Time will tell I guess. It has certainly boosted my motivation and made me pretty happy and with a resolve to not screw it up on my vacation. We leave this week.

My plan is to make good food choices. This may be the hardest with family reunions over meals, a wedding, 50th wedding anniversary and birthday celebration. Let’s face it, who doesn’t indulge on vacation? Isn’t that what they are for?

I will still workout, even run. OUTSIDE! Gasp, I know! I am preparing myself  mentally that I know no one. No one knows me. I will never see any of the people who live or are staying around us again. I am kind of curious to see if running at sea level really is different from running at a higher elevation. Our rental in Florida has a pool. I plan to swim. A lot!

I want to come home and have not gained, maybe even losing weight!

Not sure I will be blogging until I get back. Wish me luck!

Posted on May 27, 2012, in Kris and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. IMPRESSIVE! I always marvel at the people using the incline on the treadmill but hanging on for dear life. I am sure that your weight loss is greatly due to your new efforts and all the sweating!

    Best of luck on vacation. It will be hard, but the reward will be worth it! Enjoy the Florida sunshine 🙂

What you say matters...

