OAC

Nope, I’m not talking credit here today, folks. I’m talking about something that I was unaware of even existed until about 4 days ago. The Obesity Action Coalition. I work in the world of weight. Day in and day out I hear people tell me about how much they’ve lost, or how they can’t wait to have surgery so they can lose weight and be able to play with their children, fly on an airplane, fit in a movie theater seat, or walk their daughter down the isle. I must admit, I sometimes get more emotionally attached to some patients than others and when they reach their goals I feel a great sense of pride for these hard working individuals. Even working in the industry I do, I had no idea what the Obesity Action Coalition was. Basically, the OAC is a non-profit organization whose primary focus is to help those who have been effected by obesity. {you can read more about the OAC here}

But this got me thinking a lot. I overheard one of my docs talking to a Primary Care doc on the phone about a mutual patient and heard him say, “She will always be effected by the disease of obesity” Disease?! I had NEVER thought of obesity as a disease. But it is. And it is running rampant through our country and effecting our children. We can blame McDonalds, or video games, or the fact that kids only have PE 3 days a week all we want, but ultimately, as a parent it is OUR responsibility to teach our children healthy eating habits. I personally struggle with this a lot. On any given night you can come into my house and hear my kids asking for seconds, or asking what’s for dessert. The worst? My children know that when I get “that look” at the dinner table and get up quickly where I’m going…and in any restaurant when this happens Giovanni will yell, “Mom, are you going to throw up?!”. Awful, awful example. I should explain right now that when you have a band and eat too fast, or eat the wrong foods you get “stuck” and there is no where for the food to go but up. And, in the  spirit of being honest, for a while I would use this “trick” when I ate something I knew I shouldn’t and didn’t want to pay the price on the scale later. Horrible, I know. But I really have tried hard to get out of the habit of doing that.

I have learned a lot through my struggle with my weight. I have tried being completely honest with my children about it also. I have started explaining to them that it’s fine to have sweets every once in a while, but we don’t need dessert every night {or after every meal!} because though we love Dr. Schlesinger {my surgeon} we don’t want them to be patients of his when they grow up. I also explain to my children that this is a constant struggle. That ice cream will ALWAYS be my weakness. That I have an unhealthy relationship with food, and I’m trying to change that. It’s not easy, and I will probably struggle with this for the rest of my life. I’m thankful for organizations such as the OAC who provide support to those of us who struggle with our weight. I’m also thankful to be able to ramble on here and have the support of so many who are rooting for me to win the battle of the bulge.

So… this week, my goal is going to be helping my children focus on healthy habits. Helping them realize that “food is fuel for our bodies” and not something we turn to when we are {insert emotion here}. Though we are in the 90’s already, I also am going to focus on doing a physical activity with my children a few nights next week, be it jumping on the trampoline, going on a bike ride, or maybe inviting ourselves to someone’s pool for a swim, we are going to get moving! Have a great week!

xoxo,

Autumn

Posted on May 3, 2012, in achievement, Autumn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I appreciate your total honesty. I used to blame my mom for many of my bad habits/unhealthy food relationships, but I had to start accepting my responsibility. Perhaps that has made me even more aware of how/what I am teaching my kids. It is so difficult having a teenage daughter when I want to share my mistakes with her but not give her a complex about her weight. I’m terrified of making her self-conscious or worse bulimic.

    Man! Mothering is hard.

  2. Thank you for being candid. It is so taboo to talk about eating disorders which helps perpetuate the shame and therefore keeping people from getting help. In my late teens I used that “trick” for a long time. There are times is crosses my mind to do it again. Bringing the issue into the light is a big step to ending the cycle. You are very brave for doing it publicly. Keep your chin up. We are all here for you!

    Parenting sure does suck sometimes!

What you say matters...

