psychology + biology =

I’m taking a class called physiological psychology. I know…why don’t I challenge myself more. Ha! We just finished a chapter with a section called, “Hunger: Regulation of the Body’s Nutrients”. If I wanted to bore you I’d give you all the details about insulin and glucagon and fat and about the lateral hypothalamus plays a role in getting you to start eating or how a neurochemical called, CART, plays a role in getting you to feel full and stop eating…

…but really, would that help us in our quest to lose weight? Maybe.

Apparently, there is a group of scientists who believe that obesity should be classified as a brain disorder. Pros: insurance might pay for counseling and other treatments to help obese people lose weight. Cons: If you’re fat, you’re crazy.

One intersting fact that affected me personally from this chapter is the BMI scale. Since I’ve lost some weight I have downgraded from being “morbidly obese” to only being “obese”. I’ll take it as good news!

Everything else I’m learning in this class just backs up all the info we hear all the time: get a good night’s sleep, less calories in, more calories out, don’t starve yourself or puke up what you just ate, drink water, blah, blah, blah….

Only it isn’t “blah”. It’s scientific fact. Dang it.

Someone told me yesterday that I was brave for posting my weight (which is exactly the same today as it was 2 weeks ago, by the way). I told them I wasn’t brave. I had to. HAD TO. I cannot be accountable to myself. I lie to myself all the time (“This cookie won’t count”). The scale doesn’t lie and I am better at telling the truth to other people.

I’ve been discussing with my hubs (oh, yes, thank you, we had a lovely anniversary weekend in San Diego) that I’m at a set point (another scientific term from physio psych class) and I need to do something drastic to get passed it. My goal for this week is to make an appointment with my doc and ask for a referal to a nutrionist.

Drastic.

Clearly, what I have been doing isn’t getting the weight off, so I am looking for outside help. I’m probably going to have to start counting carbs or calories or some other annoying thing, but counting is not nearly as annoying as being fat. I want to feel better in my bathing suit this summer. I’m going to be spending a whole week camping at the beach!

SO! What drastic measures are you willing to take (or have you taken) to overcome your issues, friends?

I’m off to Disneyland for my baby’s 6th birthday. Wish me luck!

Posted on April 20, 2012, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Don’t you wish science would come out and say that cookie will actually help you lose weight! Alas, we must sweat it out.
    We all have an idea of my drastic quest to get sleep.
    I wish it was as easy to get the weight off as it was to put it on. Your health is worth being drastic though! Keep your head up!

  2. http://www.sparkpeople.com. That’s my tool. I count calories with it, and learn a heck of a lot too. Unfortunately there’s no ‘easy’ way. I have also signed muself up for a few 5K’s. Now I have no choice. 🙂

  3. we stopped eating sugar…. omg, I do not know if you know this but I LOVE sugar.. I guess not as much as I love my husband :D. He also had type two and the doctor told him he needed to pull his head out of his butt or well who needs the dirty details.

    It was easier than you would think there are still plenty of “sugar-free” candies and the best part is that you cannot eat the whole bag because your stomach will hurt sooo bad you will want to die.

    so we eat apples sooooo many apples 😀

    We have both lost 30+ pounds only giving up sugar (now to move onto bigger and better things)

What you say matters...

