Where is the unpause button?

Emergency trip to the dentist. Girl Scout cookies. 5-year-old with a double ear infection. Lack of sleep after staying up with the crying 5-year-old. Three exams. Waiting on pins & needles for my nephew to come home (big family drama). The combination of those things (along with my regular crazy/fun life) sabotaged my week. I remember at one point thinking that I needed a pause button to catch my breath or at the very least to not worry about my fitness goals for a little while. Then almost immediately after the thought came to me that I cannot pause if I want to succeed.

Here’s proof.

I’m tired of looking at my ugly toes. I promised myself a new pedicure when I hit 20 pounds lost, and since then all I’ve done is gain 😦

My goal for this weekend is to get ahead of my school work. I felt like I was chasing deadlines this week. Consequently, instead of working out I was studying and doing homework. When I don’t work out, I forget to eat well. Not a good combination. (I don’t have the same problem resident blogger Kris does)

Tomorrow I am going to workout!!! My goal is to get to the gym and swim in the morning….before anyone notices I’m gone. After that I’ll spend some time with family and some time with the books. Balanced Saturday.

In this next week I need to reduce my stress. One way I plan to do that is to start my day with spiritual guidance. My day always goes better if I’ve read counsel from the Lord through scriptures and then pray and listen for His guidance. Some people call it meditation…a rose by any other name…

My big goal for the week is balance, and I know to balance I need to plan ahead. You know how much I LOVE to plan ahead (insert sarcastic eye roll). It’s just that whenever I do make a plan it seems something comes up to turn it upside down. So maybe I will make a plan and a backup plan.

Gag!

Ok, fine. I’m doing it. Each night if when I go to my room early (before 10…ok, maybe by 9:30) then I can assess the next day and make a plan for food and exercise. If I don’t break out in hives from having to plan ahead.

Wish me luck!

Posted on March 9, 2012, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Deborah White

    I’ve always thought the best way to reduce stress was to eliminate those people who were causing my stress. Then I realized that prison would probably be even more stressful!

  2. Good luck! 🙂 You can do it.

  3. You already do a lot of planning…just not in this area. Sounds like just realizing all the planning you do may make it less of a pain…or not! Regardless, it is the only way. Remember that saying: fail to plan, plan to fail. So whether or not you do any “planning” you are planning. Does that make any sense? I don’t know…it sounded good in my mind and you are one of the few that understand my nonsense mind. I love you! Now get the right kind of planning done! You deserve it!

What you say matters...

