Another week…..

I feel like I need to apologize for my rant last week, but at the same time we are suppose to be honest and that was the ugly truth of how I was feeling. This journey we are on isn’t unicorns and rainbows. It is a climb up a mountain and the view from the top is of another mountain to climb. A constant up and down. Sometimes the mountains are really small, hills really and at other times we are staring up at a fourteeneer. (for those of you who are not lucky enough to live in Colorado, a fourteener is a 14000+ foot tall mountain.) Climbing one  is actually on my list of goals. It’s a big deal around here to do it.

As for my week, it was decent. Good really. I got in two 1.5 hour workouts and two 40min workouts. Watched what I ate and drank enough water to float a boat. I could have slept better but that’s a medical issue that hopefully will have some resolve after the 7th. I started back training for a 5k. I had to stop last October due to a torn meniscus in my knee and have just put off running again. I hate running. When does that runner’s high kick in? It was a great feeling though to find it wasn’t so bad. I figured I should start from the begining of the program since I hadn’t been doing it for so long. I was proud of myself to see that it was easier than when I first started last year. It wasn’t until the last minute of the last running interval that I caught myself reaching out to hang on to the treadmill. That’s a big deal for me. It gave me a little push. “Wow,” I really could get through this program and run a 5k. When you are in the middle of something hard or that you haven’t done before, it is easy to think you’ll never get through it. When I was doing it last Fall, I kept thinking I was crazy, not so much now.

Now my weigh in. Well, my prediction was right. I am back up 2lbs. Trying really hard to not dwell on it. There are factors that we could certainly chalk the gain up to. My Aunt Flo started her visit the same day. Bloating. The one time I really indulged was in the chili and homemade Navajo Fry bread the night before. Not exactly a light meal and my Achilles heel is a good bread. Whatever!

I may not have lost or am losing like I would like but I am having other victories and for that, I am proud of myself.

On to this week. One foot in front of the other. That’s the only “weigh” to get up the mountain.

Success each day should be judged by the seeds sown, not the harvest reaped. John C. Maxwell, The Difference Maker, Making Your Attitude Your Greatest Asset

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Kris and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Everyone has rubbish weeks, don’t worry! Just keep your head up and carry on, it’s not gonna be easy!

What you say matters...

