24 hours

   I just said “Goodbye” to my hubby for the next 24 hours. He gets the “privilege”, LoL of staff duty, and I get to play Super Mom. My cape had been collecting dust on a shelf since he got back from deployment, I almost forgot what it felt like to have it on my shoulders once more. It had an eerie comparison to how I feel about my weight-loss. I was not “skinny” when I met my husband. I was not obese either. I had a bit more junk in my trunk than I would’ve liked, but overall I was pretty healthy. Looking back at those years, I realized how active I was too. I would literally walk everywhere. I loved it. I have never been a go-to-the-gym type of girl. I don’t have the discipline, nor the guts to flaunt my flab in front of others. LoL. Walking was my escape. I was able to clear my head and pounce on the pounds with every step.

  I did the same thing over the past year while Allan was deployed. My trusty jogging stroller and I became inseparable as Cwynn became my walking partner. I recaptured my love of walking..pushing my distances further and further until I was reaching 5 miles a day. I realized this morning as I dusted off my Super Mom cape, that my running shoes were also looking a bit forlorn and dusty. Had I really ignored them for that long? Yep. I had. Kansas weather has been fickle lately, and at the moment we are blessed with temps nearing 60 degrees. Before the forecast changes, I am lacing up my shoes and loading my jogging stroller (and walking partner) into the van. There is an awesome walking trail outside of post I have been dying to try, and I think today looks like a great day.I was researching how far it is, huh..5 miles….BRING IT!!!!!

     Dusty capes and running shoes make me realize how just a small amount of time can change my weight-loss attitude. The weight hasn’t been falling off lately as it did in the beginning. It wasn’t that I lost sight of my goals, but I lost me. I was so wrapped up in moving, kids, school changes, and husband stuff that I forgot to step back and reasess where I was headed.The scale has held steady this past week..thank heavens, so I need to make it move. In the RIGHT direction. My goal is to lose these last few pounds to get to my 100lb total weight-loss before I see my bariatric surgeon in a few weeks. It’s not many, and totally achieveable..if I keep the dust bunnies away. So it took a 24 hour duty for my husband, for me to rediscover my path. Now I just need to start walking it!!!!

  Have an awesome week..brush off some dust bunnies and keep moving forward, we are in this together.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are awesome. Enjoy your walk…er…walks 🙂

  2. Dust bunnies are the devils advocates 😉 Love you, sis wu… we should chat soon! Walking is what I attribute most of my weight loss in the beginning… I don’t think I ever did 5 miles {Giovanni was a tad older that Cwynn and would whine to me that he was tired of sitting in the stroller lol}. So keep it up!! Love you!!

  3. Thank you for your post. I love the cape reference. My hubby usually travels for work and is gone Mon – Thursday but has been home for 3 months now and its been hard to keep some of the normal “healthy” routines going. I just want a hang out all the time. Thanks for the post.

What you say matters...

