Starting to see clearly now…

Boy what a difference a day makes.  I got a call last Tuesday from my DH telling me that he was going to need emergency surgery to reattach his retina.  Wow!  That was NOT what I was expecting to hear.  I knew his eye was causing trouble, but surgery?!  When faced with those kinds of things, you really find out what matters and what doesn’t.  My husband really matters to me.  My son and daughter do too.  I love my friends to pieces and would do anything for them.  I found out they would do anything for me too.  What a comfort that is when life throws you a curveball.  I get warm just thinking about them.

It was clear to me that I had to totally re-examine my goals and put the effort into following through and not just make a list of things I’d like to do because being healthy is really important to me too.  I’ve been playing games with my weight loss and commitment to exercise.  I was looking over some medical records for my ankle – the one that’s been giving me trouble since 2005.  My weight then was the same as it is now…  I am back to the beginning again…and again…and again.  I know how hard it is to stay consistent, to stick to it when you are thin and feels much better and how sneakily (is that a word?) the weight works itself back on.  So set goals…

My goals for January:

Work out at the Y on Monday and Friday.  I will be trying to get in there on Wed too.

Move my treadmill into the living room this week.

Get on the treadmill at least twice a week for an hour.  Increase my running time every time.

Don’t eat after 9:30pm. Period.

Drink at least 6 glasses of water a day…more is better

Don’t have a DC until I’ve had a 16 oz water.

That’s it for now…I want to start with a reasonable goal.  There are more I want to implement but will do it when these are concrete.

Of course I have goals for my homeschooling and other personal areas, but these are the ones I want to be accountable to you here…

What are your goals (resolutions just don’t usually stick) for January?  We’d sure love to hear from you and help each other keep on track.

 

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Rae and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Our love to J. Awesome, specific goals! I’ll be checking in on you 😉

What you say matters...

