Lost Size….Good Riddance!!

I have missed posting.  Absent minded, or just too busy, I am not sure, but being back is nice.  I do hope you all had an amazing season of celebrations.  My family celebrated Christmas with other family and friends, and were reminded how blessed we are to have a God who came to earth so we may spend eternity with him, and to have so many to celebrate Him with.  

So, let’s get to the “scalematters”…  I started out the Christmas celebration feasting on great food and going easy on the desserts.  The challenge is, desserts are not my downfall, so being a bit careful with the “good food” was crucial.  I did weigh in today and ended the season only 1 pound up from where I was at my last post, so I shall not complain, just hop back on the wagon and dredge forward.  Plans for 2012 are big, I am not sure yet what my goal is for the year, but I am trying to choose one that is aggressive yet realistic. 

On a note of celebration, I did lose a pant size.  I found that not only were my britches uncomfortably big, but I starting looking a little ridiculous hauling them up every 5 minutes.  So, I hesitantly headed to my closet to pull out a dusty pair of jeans that I have been hoping to fit into someday.  I reluctantly pulled them out of the drawer, remembering the last time I tried this.  My reality at that time was full disappointment is experiencing that dreaded “V” in the zipper area; You all know, the one that pops up when the pants fit over the thighs, but not quite in the butt and stomach.   So here I am again, with the same pair of jeans mocking me!!  I pulled them up over my thighs, over the behind, beyond the tummy AND,  well,  it wasn’t there!!  I buttoned and zipped them….WITHOUT a struggle.  Oh, what a party I had.  I didn’t think twice when I took the old pair, kissed them goodbye and put them in the donate pile.  

Immediately, I ran to the closet, pulled every pair of pants that were just too big out and gave that big pair of jeans some company in the bag of “donate.”  

I thank you all for giving me the time to post my successes and failures.  I will leave you with this little “funny” that was sent to me last week, I don’t know who the author is, but they have a great sense of what tends to happen after the months of November and December.  Until next week…

Twas the month after Christmas,  and all through the house,

Nothing would fit me,  not even a blouse.

 
The cookies I’d nibbled,  the eggnog I’d taste,

At the holiday parties,  had gone to my waist.

 
When I got on the scales,  there arose such a number!

When I walked to the store,  (less a walk than a lumber).


I’d remember the marvelous,  meals I’d prepared;

The gravies and sauces,  and beef nicely rared,


The wine and the rum balls,  the bread and the cheese,

And the way I’d never said,  “No, thank you, please.”


As I dressed myself,  in my husband’s old shirt,

And prepared once again,  to do battle with dirt,


I said to myself,  as I only can

“You can spend a winter disguised as a man!”


So-away with the last,  of the sour cream dip,

Get rid of the fruit cake,  every cracker and chip.


Every last bit of food,  that I like must be banished

Till all the additional,  ounces have vanished.


I won’t have a cookie,  not even a lick.

I’ll want only to chew,  on a long celery stick.


I won’t have hot biscuits, or corn bread, or pie,

I’ll munch on a carrot,  and quietly cry.


I’m hungry, I’m lonesome,  and life is a bore-

But isn’t that what,  January is for?

 

Unable to giggle,  no longer a riot.

Happy New Year to all,  and to all a good diet!


…Happy 2012 to you all,  Hope you see “less” of me next year!!

 

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a fantastic feeling – accomplishment! I too hope to see less of you as I see more of you at the gym!

  2. Less is more! Congratulations! May your “donate” bag continue to grow!

What you say matters...

