Motivating Goals

Goals work for me.  It’s the motivation I need to move.  I ran with some of my friends in the Turkey Trot in our area.  Now I didn’t do a lot of prep for it, but it did spawn something in me to want to keep going.  SO, a friend and I are signed up for another 5K in the area in January with plans to run a 10K in April or so and a half marathon in January of 2013.

Just knowing that I have plans that hinge on other plans that culminate in a big event next year encourages me right now.  I know that if I DON’T get my exercise in and prepare for these runs that I will be discouraged and will eventually stop.  I don’t want to go there, so I’m getting them in.

It seems the weekend is an exception to my exercise routine.  Having my husband home and the activities that come up seem to derail my routine.  I’ve heard it’s good to take a break, but then again, a routine is hard to make and easy to break.  I’m working on finding a fun way to get some exercise in.  Saturday our area had a parade.  Now I didn’t walk the parade but I did get a few minutes in walking the distance to and from my car- not super far, but still a little movin’.  I just need more.

On a completely different note…

My mom and dad are visiting my brothers out of state right now.  They’ll be gone 2 weeks.  I miss them more than I thought I would.  I keep almost calling my mom to do something fun…like going to the parade, or meeting for lunch, or a couple of the Christmasy events going on around here.  I know my brothers are enjoying the time with them since they’ve moved and been a way for a few years.  I understand more what they’ve been feeling now.  I want my mom!  She’s such a fun lady!  I love that we are so close.

My bestest friend, ABC, lost a family member today.  Her uncle died of a heart condition. Of course when things like this happen it makes you think…how can you not?!   I don’t want to lose my mom or dad…or any other family members for that matter.  My mom – she has struggled with her weight for as long as I can remember.  I understand now, as I struggle…along with the rest of us here, right?!  Her back has been keeping her from getting in any exercise and I know she is discouraged.  I am in tears because I don’t know how to help and am touched by how fragile life is.  I know she won’t want me to share all of this, but I promised honesty here and honestly, this is something I think about often.  I hope that she realizes it is because I love her so much and that I hope those who know her will help to encourage her to get the help she needs to get healthy too…so she can live life the way I know she wants so badly to…and selfishly because I want her here with me for as long as possible. Ugh!  It is so hard to lose weight, and even harder when you are hurt.  I love you so mom!  I’ll be here with you every step of the way.

Go hug your loved ones and tell them how much you love them!  Do it regularly!

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Rae and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Goals are good. For me to have a deadline helps. It is even more motivating if there is some kind of monetary consequence behind it. I hate to waste money. We had a gym membership that we had stopped to save some money and I had vowed I would keep things up at home, but it didn’t go as planned. We started up again and I feel I have wasted that monthly fee if I do not make it to the gym at least 3 times a week. I wish I could just say, ” I am going to lose 5 pounds by Christmas,” and it is enough of a motivating factor, but it is not. Not as much, anyways, as having to fit into a dress that I intentionally bought a size smaller to wear to an event. Keep making goals to keep you moving.
    On another note, it is always hard to see our loved ones hurt. Keep working and moving and doing what you are doing. Perhaps seeing you succeed at getting healthy will help motivate her to do the same.

What you say matters...

