Breathing

Last week at this time, things were much different. I was excited at the prospect of spending a holiday with my COMPLETE family. Oh, how things can change in the blink of an eye. As AB has already let you know my husband had an unfortunate collision at a Thanksgiving morning football game that landed him in the hospital with a broken rib and collapsed lung. My day changed in an instant. Nothing else mattered. The turkey I had gotten up early to baste, the pies and foods I had specifically chosen for him (afterall, he was FINALLY home from Iraq)..none of it mattered. One of his favorite quotes is above our bed, “Life is not measured by the breaths we take, but the moment that take our breath away”. All I could think of was how badly I just wanted him to breathe, to be healthy, to be back with us where he belonged.

He was able to be released on Saturday night, and our lives are taking a slow pace again, and I am trying to be okay with that. It isn’t easy, as we have four kiddos, and in escrow on our 1st home. However, I am trying to step back and look at the priorities now. I thought that things like Black Friday, Perfect Turkey Dinners, and being done with Christmas shopping were important. Nope, not so much. I will probably be out finishing the week of Christmas…and thats okay. My family, and our health is more important..and far more valuable.

  I did …hmmm, wonder how?? LOL. LOSE weight over the holiday. Yet, I am still not going to weigh for todays blog. Instead I decided to measure.. 

 Neck: 12 1/4″ ( 1/4 ” loss), Chest: 44″ (3 inch loss), Hips:49 1/2 ” (3 inch loss), Waist: 40″ (2 1/2 “loss), Arm: 9 3/4″ (1/4″ loss), Calf 14 3/4″ (1/2″ loss), Ankle: 7 1/2″ (1/4” loss) all these losses were from the last time I measured…3 weeks ago!!!

Measuring and Breathing…my focus this week. Both are paying off =)

                        

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So sorry your holidays got revamped — but in some ways your new focus is exactly where we should all be. Congrats on your inches lost! and good luck as you move forward! (((hugs)))

  2. THAT’S A WHOLE LOT OF LOST INCHES! AWESOME!!!

What you say matters...

