I’m not wearing underwear

Seriously. TMI? Too bad. My blog. My rules. Honesty is rule #1. This week has been another busy one and it seems my unders have been negelected by the “washer woman” (which is what my husband calls himself when he’s forced to do laundry because I’m always gone). Here I sit waiting for them to dry before I can leave the house.

This whole month has been rather busy. Using “busy” seems like such an understatement. Filled with non-stop activities, many of which were not desirable. But this week has gotten better. No one in my immediate circle has died and lately I count that as a good week. I didn’t have to clean up any puke either. Maybe I should consider it a great week…

Except I weighed in. I told you the stomach virus was cheating last week.

 

Over the course of the last month I have lost less than two pounds! And I haven’t had a single piece of candy. But my post last Friday was rather negative, so I went looking for some good news. I pulled out the tape measure and opened my spreadsheet which I created on October 14th (go ahead, call me a nerd, but spreadsheets make me happy). Since that day I’ve lost 1.8 pounds (big woop), but in the six areas I measure (neck, chest, waist, hips, right thigh, left bicep) I have lost a total of 4.5 inches in the last month. WOOOHOOO!  So maybe I will start believing people when they say they can see a difference.

This week I had a test in my abnormal psych class which in part covered eating disorders. While I don’t want to try to define “normal” I can say that I am definitely not abnormal. Reading about how people (because it isn’t just women) can limit themselves to only drinking coffee, force themselves to puke, take laxatives, workout for 3 hours because they ate a piece of cake…that just reaffirmed that I am doing this the right way. Hard work. The kind of hard work that makes you sweat in front of other people. And go out of your way to avoid the dessert table at church functions. And make insane decisions like thinking I am going to be ready to run 13.1 miles in May. (I got into the Ogden Half Marathon on May 19th!)

I’m going to keep on doing the “normal” things. But right here and now I’m making a declaration. I’m not even calling it a goal. It’s just something I am going to do. (cuz, you know, deciding to run a half marathon wasn’t enough for one week) For the first time in my life I am going to lose weight during the holiday season. By January 1st of 2012 I will show significant progress from my weight today…and because of a stupid statistics class I’m in I could probably do a math problem to prove it…but I won’t.

Wish me luck.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in AB and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love this post. And I’m glad to know that my disorders aren’t too abnormal. 😉 for me its the whole sneaking food thing. As if calories didn’t count when eaten in secrecy.

  2. You rock! That is a lot of inches!!! And I will support you over the holidays if you support me. We are planning to stay in a hotel, which hopefully has a gym. I envision you slipping out of the slumbering house to come workout with me at the hotel and us having some alone sister time with NO kids or hubbies or even mom. (Shhh, don’t tell her!) Sounds like a plan?

    1-4-3

  3. You’re amazing…you work so hard and laugh even harder. It’s always fun to have you in workout class because you make everyone smile. You’ve been doing the workout for awhile now, but I think you’re going to LOVE adding the running. It’s so great you signed up for the half marathon…I think you’re gonna enjoy the results and experience!!!

What you say matters...

