Thank you for being a Friend

Did you know it was Monday…I’m just putting the pieces together!  Ack.  What wisdom can I drum up so late on a Monday…

 Use your friends!

Be accountable and let them be accountable to you.

I was in a mud pit, so to speak.  My son got me out walking on Monday last week.  I felt so much better afterward.  Not because the work out was so wonderful, but because I did it even though I didn’t want to.  The week got ahead of me and before I knew it, the weekend was upon me…and I hadn’t gotten in another walk, run, anything.  I had a full weekend (in fact I didn’t even get any sleep on Friday to prepare for an event on Saturday) so working out wasn’t in the cards for me on Fri or Sat (recovery after the event)

On Sunday, another friend asked me if I wanted to go for a 3 mile jog (walking was to be involved too).  I knew I had to say yes.  Again, I was so glad I did!  It was a great time doing something good for us and enjoying each other’s company as well as the company of another friend who decided to join us – accountability is contagious!  You know the benefit of this is spending time with people you enjoy improving each other’s health, being involved more deeply in each other’s lives, real accountability!  Now that is something to cling to.  True friendship happens that way.

Well, it kickstarted something in me.  Just getting out and doing it has lit something in me.  I did an hour interval training on the treadmill today…walking quickly for 1 1/2 minutes and then a sprint the next 30 seconds.  I did this for an hour and the last run was at an 8 on my treadmill.  It felt awesome!  I’m recharged.  I sat down and worked out a schedule for my week – a much milder week – to get in my exercise..it’s in my planner so I HAVE to do it!  I credit this “charge” to my friend…the one I used!

Use your friends!

Have an excellent week!

Oh, I almost finished without a report (it helps me to keep accountable to all of you!)  I am down 2 pounds!  I am 171 pounds.  Now I’m not looking back at where I could have been if I’d only kept with it, I’m going to keep on THIS path and make a dent in things THIS week.  I WILL be in the 160’s by next Monday!

Oh, and if you’re interested, I will be walking on Thursday and Friday too…while T-Man is in school.  I know there’s a path nearby…join me?  My back up for Friday is to walk while my T-Man is at swim practice…making it a priority this week…and know that a habit will eventually follow.  I remember the days of really WANTING to work out.  It’s a matter of getting there again…here goes…

Thanks for letting me babble tonight…MONDAY!

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Rae and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I wish we could meet once a week at the beach and go walking, but LA to SD is just too far 😦 Yesterday I went to the free exercise class at church. It was supposed to be an “easy” day with just an old fashioned aerobics class. My friend who teaches had sick kids so we had our hard core sub. Hard core. But in the end I was glad to start my week with such a strong workout. My abs are killing me today. HOORAY! for workouts that make us feel better!

  2. It is too far! Bummer Deal for sure! I’m going to break out the WiiFit again tonight. It’s quite dusty! I’m doing the EA Sport Active. It’s a decent workout. I need to get my free weights out of the shed…put there when our tenant moved in to our workout room in May.

  3. Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

What you say matters...

