Perseverance

My grandmother (years ago) was told by her doctor that if she ate chicken, broccoli, and cauliflower, it would prolong her life;  So for the rest of her days, at least 5 days a week, guess what she ate for dinner?  Yep, you guessed it, chicken, broccoli and cauliflower.  I felt so bad for grandpa!!  I do have to admit, I believe that diet prolonged her life.There is also my dad.  Goodness how I love him!  He is amazing in so many ways AND he has his mothers ability to control his diet to a point that it is beyond admirable.  The doctor tells him to drink pomegranate juice… He drinks it EVERY DAY!  The doctor told him he needed to go on a low carb diet…Really, he did and totally sticks to it, he doesn’t even cheat!  The doctor tells him to drink 64 ounces of water a day….Seriously, I think he measures it.

So why, why do I have such a hard time persevering?   I think I should have been given the genetic “self control” marker, and not the “self indulgent” marker;  I do think somewhere in my making they were mixed up.   I find that I often times frustrate myself because of my total lack of perseverance and self control, but don’t know how to fix it.

I am going to persevere this time, I am going to make my grandmother, dad, husband, family, friends, kids and MYSELF proud.  I know in my mind that it is going to take time;  I just wish it was a little easier to stay encouraged.

Today, I was actually excited to “hit the scale”.  I fully expected that with the efforts this week I would have met my first goal….Well here it is, I didn’t.  I am 1.6 pounds away.   Wow, how I was hoping to hit it this week, but, well, STINK! it just didn’t happen.  Oh how I want to give up.  How dumb is that?  I have lost weight, just not as much as I wanted to.   I have, on the other hand, been able to stick to my other plans, so I will celebrate that, and hope I can continue into this week.

Until next week… Stick to it!!

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Jenn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reexamine your goals…make sure they are realistic and celebrate your progress. I totally understand perseverance issues…I think that’s what I’m fighting too. Look how much further you got than if you did nothing. I’m celebrating for you!

  2. CELEBRATE YOUR PROGRESS! I’m just emphasizing what Rae said because it’s true! You’ve lost weight! You’ve made changes to your lifestyle! Just be consistent…and realistic. You can do it another week…and then another one after that…and another…

What you say matters...

