The journey begins … AGAIN.

The journey begins … AGAIN.

I am certain I have started this journey before, haven’t I? This time, yes, this time, it WILL work… Oh no!! Haven’t I said THAT before?

Wow, I am a broken record; or maybe, just a broken soul. How do I begin this journey and THIS time be successful? What do I need to do different, better? How do I silence that voice in my head that screams “you are a failure!” I have thought this through and have come up with only one solution: Stick it out this time, don’t sabotage yourself. Sounds so easy, but I believe I have even said that before.

That dark voice is telling me that I will not succeed, so why try? Well, here it is… I will try for my husband and my children; I will try for myself! I am certain I deserve it, so why don’t I feel like I do? Again, that voice, that ugly dark voice that I can not escape. Unfortunately, I can not plug my ears, or leave the room, that voice is coming from my own head, my own heart!

I begin my journey at a mere 244.3, which remarkably, is not the highest number I have seen beyond my toes on that scale, so I should start encouraged, right? Well, I am not. I am scared. I am afraid that I will fail again, then what?

I believe every journey in life is so much more fulfilling when it is shared with those you love, so I invite you to come along on my journey. I am starting with one huge commitment, and one small step. I am committed to ignoring that voice that comes from within, and I will change one habit this month; I will do a minimum of 30 minutes of cardio for the next 21 days (I hear that is the “magic number” of building a habit), I will change only that for now, and I will NOT listen to that voice!

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The difference between you and me is that at least you have started in the past. I saw my weight getting out of control, but I was scared of failing so I never started. A diet with no cheese or meat? That’s ridiculous. I can’t do that. A different diet with no carbs, can’t do that either. Couldn’t make it one day.
    At least you’ve begun, and have started again. There are slips and falls but you can come back from it.

  2. Hooray! I think many of us have that voice. I did. That’s why I started scale matters. Your approach sounds similar to mine: baby steps! Eliminate the bad habits. Create good ones. No self defeating inner speech/voices allowed. What cardio are you going to do?

  3. Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other.
    Abraham Lincoln
    Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the true failure.
    George Edward Woodberry
    Failure is success if we learn from it.
    Malcolm Forbes
    Action is the foundational key to all success.
    Pablo Picasso

    Welcome back to the journey…and welcome to the blog! You’re fantastic! ❤

  4. Just when I think I have defeated that voice, I have a setback and it comes in louder than ever “I told you so.” Hate those words!! I don’t like being wrong. So I am trying to use that voice as a motivator and turn it around when I meet a goal and say “No, I told YOU so.”
    Welcome to the journey, it will be hard, and at times it will get you down, but let others help pick you up (something I am not good at, working on it though) and keep going. The reward at the end is worth it!

What you say matters...

