Guest Post: Kim, part one

I miss Kim. She recently moved a couple of states away from where I live, but thank heavens for social networking, blogs and email! She volunteered to post! You’ll hear from her today & Thursday this week. She’s a young mom of one little girl (whom I LOVE) and loves sitting in the back row of Sunday School (which is why we’re friends!) and we hope to make her a regular here at scalematters. MEET KIM:

250 lbs.
At least that’s what I told Weight Watchers I weighed when I signed up. Four weeks later I’m weighing in at two pounds less so I like to tell myself that I did lose those two pounds. Obviously something isn’t working for me on Weight Watchers. I am only doing the online version so I don’t have the pressure (the positive peer kind) of weekly meetings or weigh ins. I asked AB if I could be some sort of guest poster. I am learning a whole lot from the program and I think I could share some of that with you. I think it might also give me some accountability which may help me in the long run as well. Hopefully this relationship will be beneficial to the both of us.
A little about me.
  •  I love to laugh and smile. The world is sad enough without adding another frown to the mix.
  •  I like to think I have a good sense of humor.
  •  I love stories! I love good books, movies and tv shows. (notice the lack of activity in any of those things)
  •  I’m a creative person but also an impatient one. I can’t stand a sewing project that is going to take me longer than a week. I also have a two year old running around so my little scrap booking items haven’t been touched much since she was born.
  •  I’m a worrier. Just about anything could keep me up at night. I can think of the worst possible scenarios when my head hits the pillow. I like to plan for the worst and be surprised when it’s better that I thought, or at least prepared for what to do if the worst does happen. Luckily my husband is a talker when his head hits the pillow so that helps me think of other things.
Ten years ago (in high school) I was a size twelve.
When I got married five years ago, I was a size fourteen.
Before I got pregnant the first time I was a size sixteen. I miscarried and couldn’t be told why exactly just different factors that may have contributed to the problem.
When I got pregnant the second time I was a size eighteen.
And now two years later I’m a size twenty. Oh how I miss shopping at more than just three stores in the mall. I weigh basically the same amount I did two years ago but it’s my waist size that bothers me most.
My goal is to be a fourteen again.
A little more immediate goal is to lose weight so I don’t have as high of a chance of miscarrying again. What a painful experience that was.
My goals for this month, talk to a doctor about my weight watchers diet and workouts and see if there is some medical reason I’m not losing. I’m also going to try to live the weight watcher rule about exercise and water consumption better.
Your turn. Tell me your story. Are you on a quest to be healthy? Thinner? A certain weight? What do you want from reading this blog? Motivation? Healthy dinner ideas? A story you can relate to?
Posted on October 11, 2011, in Kim and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yes, yes, and yes to all the above. For so long I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t easy to lose weight or to just be thin to begin with. I see a bit of myself in each post I read and it helps to realize that my struggles are the same for others.
    I have made long term goals 6 mos, 1 year, and 2 1/2yrs(that’s when my 20yr HS reunion will be) I am working toward my 5k goal with weekly ones right now. I have been very frustrated with the scale not doing much movement. I come to this blog for motivation, I even have a countdown of the days until the 5k and on different days I have written things like “If AB can do a 10k, I can do a 5k.” But I will admit that some days it is hard to see the wonderful progress of these lovely ladies while I seem stuck.

    I did want to say that I can relate with your loss. We lost 5. It can be hard and at times a lonely experience, but God is faithful.

  2. Thanks Kris. With you preparing to run a 5k I can’t help but wonder if the scale doesn’t move because you are building muscle as you lose weight. I’ve heard that you should get a pair of jeans that are the size of your goal and try them on to see your progress. That way you have something telling you’ve lost weight because you’ll fit in them a little better each week. The scale doesn’t tell you how much of your weight is muscle or fat.
    Also, our bodies are awesome and will become more efficient at burning calories for activities it’s familiar with. However, when running everyday, you don’t want to burn less calories one day then you did before. I would add some weighted crunches and squats to vary your workout and see if that helps.
    Thanks for your sympathy to my loss. I have found that only those who have been through it, truly know what it is like.

  3. Kim – I’m glad you are stepping up and doing this now, because you could be 40 with 3 kids…like me. The younger you are, the better your body is at doing what you want it to. So as hard as it is, just think that it will be WAY harder if you wait longer.
    Kris – thank you. you’re awesome. I’m so excited that you’re doing a 5K!

  4. Kim,
    Good post. I’m glad you’re approaching the doctor about possible other reasons. I also started gaining weight in college, then while living in Italy (what can I say, I ate a lot of pasta!) and things really took off when I was pregnant—in the end I weighed 225. I had a rather traumatic birth and a fat baby, so that dropped me down to 210, and then we found out that Max was allergic to whatever dairy or soy that I ate. I had to cut out all cheese, all milk, all soy, and all chocolate. That was what did it for me (and hefting around an 11-pound baby). I was also struggling with post-partum depression, and learned that I need to avoid sugar—I crash and burn hard. So I went down to 185, then surpasses my normal 175 that I’ve been since my freshman year. Then I moved to the Marshall Islands, where food is very expensive (down to 165—chocolate is amazingly expensive here, as is milk and cheese; we now use powdered milk from food storage). Then I got sick with a tropical stomach bug and shot down to 150.

    For me (and I’m not done yet, but I don’t have a set goal—I think that it’s better for my self-esteem not to look at the numbers too often) the key is to 1) cook healthy foods, 2) avoid my triggers—cheese and chocolate—and 3) exercise every day, including walks on Sundays with my little family. I have some excellent, simple recipes that I use frequently (barley with stir fry veggies, quinoa with poached eggs—I know that sounds fancy, but it’s ridiculously easy). Another thing: we eat VERY little meat. We’re testing the Word of Wisdom to the letter on that one. We have fish once in a while, chicken soup once in a while, a slice or two of turkey on a sandwich, but that’s it. I think that meat is an overlooked trigger. I also think we all put a lot more food on our plate than we should. I don’t believe in measuring out portions or anything like that, but if I feel stuffed after a meal I know that I’ve eaten too much and disrespected my body. I’m not perfect at this either, but I know that my eyes are bigger than my stomach and I try to watch out for that. Watching the local people here (25% of whom suffer from diabetes because of their poor eating habits—people start losing their limbs, one man in my ward just died from it) has made me realize that if their problems could be solved by eating less and eating local, healthy foods, then I should heed that warning. I also never buy anything that has high fructose corn syrup or partially hydrogenated anything in it. My system is clean of those things, and I like that feeling. It’s a fun challenge to find things at the store that don’t have extra crap in them. We do spend more on food bills every month because of it, but it is a cost I am willing to accept.

    Avoiding my triggers is easier for me because it hurts my pocketbook more here in Majuro. When a tiny candy bar is $1.50, that hurts. Cheese is harder for me to avoid, but I’m working on it. It helps that a small block of cheese is $8.00.

    Max and I go every single morning out for a walk around the neighborhood across the street. Not a jog, not a run—a walk. We go for at least half an hour, and normally 45 minutes. When it’s raining I do a kickboxing DVD workout, and at least two times a week I use a DVD ab workout (it’s 10 minutes long, but it’s a killer—it’s designed to get the abs in shape after pregnancy. Quite effective).

    I didn’t know you had a miscarriage, Kim. I’m sorry. I’m impressed that you’re able to talk about it and are overcoming that difficult challenge. We should never ever compare crosses; the Lord alone can do that. But I can encourage you and you can encourage me. I think if we focus on healthy lifestyle habits and less on numbers and scales, we will be happier. And the scale will mirror that healthy lifestyle automatically. I just don’t want to be a slave to the scale. I don’t want a number to make me happy or unhappy.

    I too am a worrier, Kim. I think of really gruesome scenarios sometimes, convincing myself that at least by thinking about them I’d be prepared for them. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve maimed my child in my thoughts by thinking, “Okay, what would I do if Max fell off the balcony into the lagoon?” While it’s good to be prepared, I think that I am doing the wrong sort of preparing. It is more based on fear than on faith. I call them Night Worries. These are my tactics to banish them: (1) I write down everything that’s on my mind as I’m going to bed, then clear my mind, (2) I think of a blank piece of paper and when anything comes onto that paper, I make it blank again (it’s hard!), (3) I read until I get sleepy, (4) I DON’T get on the computer until I get sleepy, because it never happens. 🙂

    Sorry for the epic response, but you asked what my story was and what I was doing! 🙂

    Time for our walk. Best of luck and I’d love some healthy dinner ideas.

  5. Kim- I wish it was as simple as adding weights, but they are already in my routine. This is what I strive for some weeks are better than others- 3-4x a week 32 min. on treadmill, 45 min. weights, 2-3x a week 1 hr of pilates. I have cut my portions in half, drink LOTS of water and yet the scale actually went up this week and this was a pretty good week for workouts.
    Sigh…..

What you say matters...

