Am I alone?

Do you do this? Please tell me I’m not the only one who gets neurotic about weighing in. Please.

Since starting this blog I’ve developed a Friday ritual. I’ll spare you the details. Let’s just leave it at I try to control the variables so that all things are equal every week. When I step on that scale, the circumstances are as humanly close to the same as the week before. Is it superstitious or good science? Or just plain old neurosis? You know what I’m talking about, right? Same time of day, shoes or no shoes (don’t we ALL take our shoes off?)…please say I’m not the only one who displays this neurotic behavior.

This morning my ritual got interrupted by a child’s doctor’s appointment (everyone is fine). I weighed in late and after I had eaten, too. I was already nervous about weighing in. My week has been stressful (you’ve been there). I’ve done considerably less stress eating than the previous AB, but I did stress eat. Heck, I even made it to bed by 10….once. However, between the stress and the PMS (see Mondays’ post) I allowed myself some cheats which made me dread the scale.

Then as I was trying to take a picture of the scale the focus wouldn’t….focus. I had to weigh myself 3 times before it worked and, no joke, every time I got on the scale the weight went up by 2/10ths of a pound. As if I wasn’t neurotic enough about weighing in.

This is the result I’m taking. I didn’t gain (but I still felt the picture needed to look as scary as it felt stepping on the scale). 

My goal for this week is simple: Be better than last week.

You know how you get going in weight loss and have some success and think, “Hey, this isn’t so hard!!” Maybe this week was a little bit of that, too. But I’m realizing more and more that this IS hard. I still look in the mirror and wonder when the me I picture in my head is going to show up looking back at me. She’s not going to show up any time soon if I keep making excuses. And I can’t give up this time. I have too much at stake.

Wish me luck.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in AB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hate weighing in.. I totally agree..it has to be the same way. You are doing great though and I can tell you are losing weight. seeing you every friday at aerobics

  2. I think anyone that does regular weigh-ins is neurotic in how it’s done. For me, I weigh in first thing in the morning after going to the bathroom, and fully naked…who needs the variable of different clothes?!
    I think you’ll see a better number next week…it’s that “time of the month” thing…for me, my weight always increases a little during that time (bloating).
    It’s definitely hard…but do-able. One step at a time…

  3. Love you… and yes I am just like that. I even take off all my clothes, even my watch as if that would matter!! It is so hard, but we are here for you!

What you say matters...

