Camping

Camping vacations have always been an excuse to eat whatever I want…lots of snacks and goodies that I normally avoid at home.  It would be fine, most likely, if we didn’t go so often.  We bought a motorhome last year and have gone out at least once a month since we bought it…in July we were gone every weekend…excellent right!?  It’s nice when you make a big purchase like that and actually use it.  On the downside, I’ve been eating horribly for a whole year and even worse last month.  I’ve also been very stagnant…in moving my feet.  A couple Sunday’s ago marked a new start for me.  Last weekend was the test to how committed I was; we went camping up in the mountains with some friends.

I am pleased to report I had lots of successes.  I did enjoy a couple of treats but they were portioned nicely and I abstained from lots more.  I packed TONS of fruit to grab instead of the king sized box of Milk Duds, and a tiny cup of Cherry Garcia instead of the full size tub…even if you get the Frozen Yogurt kind, if you eat the whole tub it’s a ton of calories, delicious calories!  I think I had about 10 Reese’s Pieces (my son’s treat), a bit of homemade cobbler and a small dollop of sugar-free/low-fat ice cream, a delicious pineapple mojito and a couple of hefeweizens…and yes, I did have a Woof-it.  Now that sounds like quite a bunch of treats, but I promise it’s miles better than I’ve done recently and they were all small portions.  I’m proud to have stopped at one Woof-it and didn’t have the s’mores, chips and other tons of other non-healthy grub.  I had a decent sized, healthy lunch and dinner and had my shake for breakfast every day.

In addition to making better food choices, I exercised!  A lot!  My friend and I went for a 4.5 mile walk along the lake both days we were there.  One of those days we took two of my three goldies on the walk with us…seriously added to the workout!   They were also a great distraction.  In addition to that, we went on multiple bike rides.  Normally I would have slept in and hung out at camp.  Can I tell you how hard it was to get up the 2nd morning!  I was sore from all this extra activity.  I’m happy I did…although I’m still feeling it as I type this.

I am camping again this weekend…with an even bigger group of friends, so I get to test myself again.  I’m making plans for different physical activities and will restock my fruit and veggie snacks…already cut and ready to grab and eat.  Wish me luck!

~~~~~~update~~~~~

Well, this weekend was not as successful.  We camped with LOTS of families we knew and ALL of them brought delicious things for the appetizer/cocktail get-together.  I know I had more than my share, but needing to look at the positive, I did NOT sample everything!  On the other side, the look reality in the face side…I know I failed to stick to my plan.  It’s so hard to pick yourself up when you fail your own set of rules.  I am learning not to dwell, and get right back up.   I did walk 1 out of the 3 days…did 3 loops, one with each dog.  Now, I know walking every day would have been best…but I’m going to have to be happy with one!  The night before we left I did get my hour walk/run in on the treadmill in our bedroom…in the dark… while my husband was going to sleep… huffing and puffing my way through the interval routine!  He’s a god-send for sure, encouraging me to get my time in for the day.

It is good to be home to get back into full-gear.  I was down 7.5 lbs before we left…tomorrow morning I’ll see how much damage this weekend did…and push on!

I hope you do too!  Fumble and pick yourself back up…love yourself enough to get back up and get moving!

Till next Monday…

~Rae

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Rae and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thank you for this. To say I fumbled is an understatement this past weekend, but as hard as it was this morning I picked myself up and went to the gym. I only hit the treadmill, but I did run 15 of the 40 mins. Granted it was not a fast run but I did it. I had been beating myself up over “failing” so badly when my Scalematters mentors were off and running. Thank you for sharing your struggle. It really helps!!!

  2. Honesty is brutal! I was right along side you both trips, for the good, bad, and delicious! I too am feeling rather defeated and a failure. But as I said to you last night, each day is given to us as a fresh start, for many things in our lives. My choices of what I put on my plate and whether or not I got off my behind and exercise is all up to me, no one forces bad decisions on me. Thanks for your honesty, and the other bloggers as well.

  3. Holiday weekends are hard! We celebrated my baby brother’s 26th bday with brownies and cupcakes…ok, so the cupcakes were homemade zucchini/chocolate but still! Forward progress…you’re doing great. I’m so impressed with the running while the hubs was falling asleep! That might’ve been too hard for me!

  4. 2 lbs. Got on the treadmill today!

  5. Sometimes its all about the babysteps. You are doing a great job just by doing something! It is a struggle when social eating is involved, and there are lots of tempting goodies. Willpower can only get you so far sometimes. The trick is not to let it get the better of ya, which you seem to be right on track with! Great job…wish we lived closer sometimes so we could beachwalk away our worries. LoL.

What you say matters...

