Who am I?

So I get this email from my very best friend asking me what I think about blogging with her on our weight loss story…the good and the bad.  She knows me well…enough to know I don’t like to write, but she’s my very best friend so here I am…supporting our weight loss together…

So who am I?  I guess I am best defined by my roles.  I’m a busy mom to 2 kids.  Only one is at home right now and we’re homeschooling…a big job but worth it!  I am a wife to my husband of 16 years…a great man!  We run our church  Awana program together – a full-time job!  I have had a great summer break camping in our motor home here and there and even a fabulous trip to Niagara Falls.  We really enjoy eating well on the road….and at home…hmmm!

Last week, in prep for this here little blog, I got on the scale.  It had been a while since I hopped on that nasty little bugger…but I did it.  I did NOT like what I saw.  I saw a number that I’d never seen on it before…not a good surprise.  181.5!!!  This is not the kind of milestone I’m interested in celebrating but here I am celebrating.  Sometimes it takes an ugly milestone to really wake you up.   I’M AWAKE!  So now what?!

Well, goals sound like as good a place to start as any.  I’ve learned that I need mini goals and long-term goals.  My short-term goal is to work out every day this week.  Working out is defined as an hour on the treadmill, on my Wii, biking, or in the pool. I don’t have a gym membership but will be getting a 3 month membership somewhere, so another goal is to do some homework and join by this weekend.  I have a fabulous Bowflex system but we have someone staying with us, living in our home gym for an undefined amount of time.  I’ve been putting things off for long enough.

My third short-term goal is to get control of my eating this week.  This means having a dietary shake for breakfast and lunch (from my doctor), fruit or veggie snacks, yogurt and a sensible dinner with my family.  I will also  drink 8 glasses of water a day, getting 2 in before I have a Diet Coke.

Longer term, I want to lose 8 pounds by the cruise I’m going on with my husband at the end of September.  That is 2 pounds a week.  This should get me back comfortably into some of the clothes that have recently gotten a bit (ok, honesty is the rule right…very much) too snug on me…

A little longer term…by December, I would like to be down 20 pounds.  This will take serious control, but is something I really want.

My big goal… I want to be down to 130 by June of next year so I can go shopping for fun clothes for our vacation to Hawaii…starting in the garage attic where I have a few boxes of clothes I WILL fit in again.

Now, I am WAY uncomfortable sharing these goals with you but I know without sharing I will have no one to keep me to them.  So, please be my partner, encourager and even a scolder (nicely) when I need it.

Here’s to this new trek!

~Rae

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Rae and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hooray! You did it. The first post is the hardest…I’m guessing. Love you and thank you for doing this with me! Great goals.

  2. Sounds like your goals are right on track, nothing you can’t do… ! I think that is part of the process setting goals that you can reach….nothing unattainable here !!!

  3. I like your game plan. Very methodical and do-able – important for the ‘stick-to-it’ part of the plan. Great job!

  4. Awesome goals, Rae! I think I may have to steal the 2 glasses of water before a diet coke one…that’s my weakness! Can’t wait to see your success! So proud of all 3 of you! 🙂

What you say matters...

